novice with a dream

Our announcements, your suggestions and anything to do with this website.

Moderator: Jeff

javsar
RNLI Supporter
RNLI Supporter

novice with a dream

Post by javsar »

Hi,
My names Jav and at present my family and I have escaped the UK and are living in sunny Turkey. We still have our place back in Derbyshire and own a lovely place here in Antalya.
However, I have had a dream for a long time but had never got around to doing anything about it. I want to buy,live abroad and sail to all the corners of the world in my own boat. A boat that I have had some part in maintaining, upgrading and generally had put work into. A boat that can handle the oceans and my wife and my little girl.

Now to reality. I am a complete novice, with no experiance whatsoever. Never owned a boat or know of anyone who has owned a boat. Do not know anything about the practical or legal requirements, or the financial for that matter.

I have seen yachts (motor yachts) for sale in the US. There seems to be greater choice their, but I have made no decisions.

Any and all help,advice or pointers would be much appreciated.

All the best,

Jav,Marie & Maya :roll:
bobholiday
RNLI Supporter
RNLI Supporter

Post by bobholiday »

Hi Jav, you have similar aspirations to me - but you're about 1 year behind. I suggest first and foremost you do a sailing course - that's what I did. You'll almost certainly need to pass a theory course also if you intend to get some insurance.

Once you've done that, the mammoth task begins of finding and buying your first boat. For my first, I went for a Westerly Centaur (which is now for sale, I'll come to that in a moment). It's not large enough to sail the oceans of the world, but it's large enough to have two aboard comfortably for a weekend - and has enabled me to grow my experience over the last 12 months.